CB editions publishes short fiction, poetry, translations and other work which, as the Guardian noted, ‘might otherwise fall through the cracks between the big publishers’. The first four books were published in November 2007. CBe titles have won a fiction prize, a translation prize and three poetry prizes, and have been shortlisted for other awards (among those the 2014 Goldsmiths Prize and Guardian First Book Award). An overview of CBe (‘if it began as a publisher of last resort, it has become one of first-class tastes’), published in the online Guardian in 2011, can be read here.

For a snapshot history of CBe, see this Sonofabook blog post.

The covers of the books, which (with the occasional exception) feature simply the title and author’s name on manilla board, allude with respect and thanks to the paperback London Magazine editions published by Alan Ross in the late 1960s and early 70s. (For images of those books, see this

CBe titles are distributed by Central Books and represented to the trade by Inpress. CBe benefits most from purchases made direct from this site; delivery within the UK is free and the books are usually sent within 24 hours of ordering.

CBe is a one-person venture. I’m grateful for an Arts Council England grant that will enable the start-up of Sonofabook magazine, launching in March 2015. The book-publishing programme receives no external funding, public or private, and relies entirely on sales of the books to stay afloat.

Jennie Walker’s 24 for 3 (McKitterick Prize, 2008), one of the first four CBe titles in 2007, is now published by Bloomsbury (and by Soho Press in the US, Einaudi in Italy and Unionsverlag in Germany). Christopher Reid’s The Song of Lunch, first published by CBe in 2009 and filmed for the BBC in 2010, is now published by Faber. 
To mark its fifth anniversary in November 2012, CBe published three pamphlets: poetry by Dai Vaughan, prose by David Wheatley, drawings by Nick Wadley.

The pamphlets are available exclusively from this website and as a set.

£6 for all three; UK orders only; free delivery.

May-Lan Tan’s Things to Make and Break is on the shortlist for the 2014 Guardian First Book Award and was runner-up in the short-stories category of the 2014 Saboteur Awards.

J. O. Morgan’s At Maldon was shortlisted for the Saltire Society's 2014 Poetry Book of the Year Award.

Will Eaves’s The Absent Therapist was shortlisted for the Goldsmiths Prize 2014.

A stage adaptation by Forced Entertainment of Agota Kristof’s The Notebook played in London in June 2014 and at the Latitude Festival in July.

On 21 March 2014, the London Review Bookshop hosted the launch party for  May-Lan Tan’s Things to Make and Break and Will Eaves’s The Absent Therapist; Alan Sheridan, the translator of Agota Kristof’s novel The Notebook, was also present.

The 2014 Scott Moncrieff Prize for translation has been won by Beverley Bie Brahic for her translations of poems by Apollinaire published as The Little Auto.

Dan O’Brien’s War Reporter: winner of the 2013 Fenton Aldeburgh First Collection Prize and shortlisted for the Forward First Collection Prize 2013. (CBe’s two other first collections – J.O. Morgan’s Natural Mechanical and Nancy Gaffield’s
Tokaido Road) – also both won the Aldeburgh Prize and were shortlisted for the Forward.)

Free Verse 2013 took place on Saturday, 7 September at the Conway Hall in London, where almost 700 people came through the door to talk, meet, browse and buy the books of more than 50 poetry publishers; blog post here.

For one week in July 2013, CBe and Eyewear Publishing ran a pop-up shop in Portobello Road, London W11, hosting readings by many writers and selling our own books and those of three other presses.

Dai Vaughan – film editor, teacher, essayist, poet, novelist, and author of Sister of the artist – died on 6 June 2012.

‘Wildly inventive and surreal . . . erotically polymorphous . . . bizarre andomic and macabre . . . fantastical . . . savagel beautiful . . . darkly cy surreal . . . apocalyptically violent . . . a thin line between brilliance and total barminesss’ – see The Queue.

The CBe
Facebook page has albums of selected Nights and Days photos, selected Recessional photos and photos roughly pertaining to the whole business

Photos of the CBe reading at the Shakespeare & Company bookstore in Paris on 15 November – with Beverley Bie Brahic, Gabriel Josipovici and Wiesiek Powaga – can be seen
here. (Photos by Lauren Goldenberg.)